What Something Purty Wore This Weekend

Emma Hardie Rejuvenating Night Cream

Can we get a shout-out for Saturday here, for it was then that (after weeks of fretting over my pale and drawn complexion) my glow finally got its mojo back. There’s been a lot of restoration work going on in my bathroom (all lovingly detailed here and here) but I credit Emma Hardie Amazing Face Rejuvenating Night Cream (£56 for a pot the size of your head, almost) with putting the last little bit of pink back into my skin – except, I’ve only been using it since Friday. Can a cream work that quickly? Really? It certainly felt like it was doing more than just moisturising, with just the tiniest tingle (gotta love that tingle) telling me that some kind of cellular function was being kicked into action. Whatever, I think it’s going to see me safely through winter and out the other side. I’m still feeling a bit dry around the edges but you’d never tell just by looking, so I was happy to skip around East Dulwich wearing not a jot of make-up, with hair scraped back and nowhere to hide.

Bobbi Brown Extra SPF25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm

On Sunday I made more of an effort. Partly because I was seeing old friends and partly because, y’know, I’ve got to have something to write about. So, foundation. Another Beauty Editor turned me on to Bobbi Brown Extra SPF25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm (£32) by telling me that every time she wore it all the other Beauty Editors asked her what skincare she was using (there’s probably no higher accolade). And lo! the first time I wore it the exact same thing happened! That was a few years ago and I’ve worn it on and off ever since – it’s pretty gleamy so doesn’t work when you want to look super-pulled-together but I rarely do. And it’s verrrry rich and thick but with quite light coverage so not great for oily skin or break-outs either. But when everything’s a bit dry and dull there’s nothing better (a tip from the PR – warm it up on the back of your hand before you apply, to make it more malleable). And then just because I had some I tried Urban Decay Razor Sharp Finishing Powder (£17) over the top. Apart from (MAC Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder, also £17) this is the only powder I’ve ever found that doesn’t appear to suck every last drop of moisture from my skin. Yesterday it added just the right amount of polish in a totally imperceptible way.

Shiseido Luminizing Satin Eye Colour Trio

Finally, I’ve been looking for a white eyeshadow for the longest time – something between dewy and frosty to wear with a pretty pink cheek and a soot-black lash. And so far nothing doing – all too chalky, ghostly or glaringly bling. Until I poked my finger into the silvery third of a newish Shiseido Luminizing Satin Eye Colour Trio in Fire (£32.50; in this spread, it’s the second from the top) and discovered a pale and twinkling pearl that pinged my eyes wide open in a  fresh and wintry way. Not quite a cream but with more slip than a regular powder, it glides on beautifully and provides a sheer and even coat of colour with not one bit of creasing. Plus, the coral third of the compact will earn its keep come spring when all we’ll be talking about is orange. And if that particular palette doesn’t appeal I highly recommend getting to a Shiseido counter and poking your own finger in – you might find something you’ve long been looking for.

Leave a Reply

